David Fleming
One Christian’s Medical
2 min readDec 20, 2017

--

To the Girl Who Tried to Kill Herself:

You have worth.

Photo: Pexels.com

No, in all these things we are more than conquerors through him who loved us. For I am sure that neither death nor life, nor angels nor rulers, nor things present nor things to come, nor powers, nor height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God in Christ Jesus our Lord.

Romans 8:37–39 (ESV)

You came in by ambulance after taking a very large overdose of Tylenol and cutting her arm. You were crying. You kept saying “What have I done?”, but then turned around and told me “You know how I got this way? When you think you are nothing, you become nothing.”

It was my job to sit in the room with you and make sure you didn’t try to hurt yourself any more. I only sat with you about an hour before I was to get off my shift, and we were always surrounded by doctors and nurses.

Today I thought of some things I would tell you if I had the chance to talk to you privately:

You think you have no future. That little boy you mentioned makes your future worth chasing.

You think you are full of hate for yourself and others. Your child doesn’t know hate; let him show you how to let that go.

You think you are alone. The mother embracing you will never leave you as long as she has breath.

You think you are aimless. God can give you a new direction.

You think you are nothing. To Him, you are everything.

Every decision you make great or small has the power to change someone’s life for the better. Don’t take that away from yourself.

YOU. HAVE. WORTH.

If you liked this article, click that “clap” button and share!

For more of my articles, click here.

Thanks for reading!

--

--

David Fleming
One Christian’s Medical

A sharer of thought. A writer of short stories. A desire to lift people up.