AI Pales in Comparison to Your Own Unique Creativity

Charlotte Allison, M.A.
One Page at a Time
Published in
3 min readJul 18, 2023

--

Artificial intelligence has some advantages; but mostly disadvantages.

Your personality and unique point of view are missing when you use artificial intelligence. Image by Author. Created with AI tool on Canva.

Recently I swore I would never use AI. I was completely against it.

But being a creative person, I figured it couldn’t hurt to keep an open mind. Typically, an open mind is part of creative intelligence.

I decided I couldn’t pass judgment on AI unless I tried it first.

The Experiment

I decided to experiment by writing one story on NewsBreak using AI assistance.

I put a prompt into ChatGPT instructing it to write an article on a certain topic. AI wrote a professional article in a matter of seconds. It even gave me a title to go along with it.

I edited the article to my liking and posted it on NewsBreak.

This is How I Feel About It

I couldn’t help but feel like I was somehow cheating. I felt a little guilty. Because I didn’t really write the article myself. All I did was put a prompt in the box and hit enter. And AI did the rest.

This somehow just doesn’t sit right with me. The creative process seems to be taken out of the equation altogether.

--

--

Charlotte Allison, M.A.
One Page at a Time

Master of Arts degree in spiritual psychology. Writing is a tool for healing. When you heal your self, you help to heal the planet as well.