How to Know What to Write When You’re Staring at a Blank Page

Charlotte Allison, M.A.
One Page at a Time
Published in
4 min readMay 22, 2024

--

The blank diploma experience that taught me a different way of looking at the blank page. It’s a simple mind-tweak that anyone can use.

It should have been a happy event.

Graduating from high school is usually a time of celebration. A time to say ‘hooray, I made it out of there’.

Only I didn’t graduate that day.

My friends and the other seniors around me proudly opened their diploma covers and displayed their diplomas.

When I opened my diploma cover there was a blank page inside. It was a blank diploma.

At first, I just kept hoping it was all just a big mistake. That I could just get it fixed somehow. But I knew I wasn’t getting my diploma because the English teacher had failed me.

This horrible teacher was known to fail students on purpose. She had threatened to fail a few other students as well. Students that did not deserve to fail.

I know one girl’s parents came to the school and told the teacher if she failed their daughter she would be in big trouble.

I had no such support from my parents.

Many students over the years had problems with this teacher. I found out some years later that they finally did fire…

--

--

Charlotte Allison, M.A.
One Page at a Time

Master of Arts degree in spiritual psychology. Writing is a tool for healing. When you heal your self, you help to heal the planet as well.