Old RADIO; COPS, ROBBERS, JACK WEBB & DRAGNET

Michael Patanella
One Short Story Everyday
2 min readMar 4, 2018

Being only 40 years old, I was only able to catch the very tail end of True Nightly Radio Programs, on Public Broadcasting, AM Radio.

Although at that when I was younger…

…the time of Golden Age of Radio…

….Had been decades gone.

But I would still like to briefly embrace such a cherished topic to me.

My favorite radio show hands down, was DRAGNET.

It would be late at night, my bedroom lights turned out, & there would be………Jack Webb’s brilliance…..

……both in writing,

directing,

narrating and

performing.

The show always had me hooked within seconds, with a great, brief Intro, my unparalleled interest in who the culprit would be, with the biggest question always being, how would Sergeant Joe Friday catch them, and solve the mystery?

I am the only nostalgic person in the family, so I was always a radio show loner. In today’s modern world of technology,

I am so very grateful for smartphone apps like “TuneIn.”

Once again…

….I am able to lay back, turn off the lights, and drift off to sleep with Dragnet, and dream that I am on the mean streets of 1950s Los Angeles…..

…..watching the LAPD’s Homicide Division.

The End

--

--

Michael Patanella
One Short Story Everyday

Author, Publisher, and Editor. I cover mindfulness, mental health, addiction, sobriety, life, and spirituality among other things. MichaelPatanella.medium.com