True

Shaun Manning
One Short Story Everyday
1 min readJan 14, 2017

“I’ve never had a boyfriend I didn’t cheat on.”

“Well then, I guess it’s a good thing we’re not dating.”

“You’re not funny.”

“I am.”

“You’re supposed to listen. That’s the point of you.”

“Is it, then.”

“That’s not what I meant.”

“What did you mean?”

“…Maybe that is what I meant.”

“Maybe I’m tired of just listening to you.”

“Thanks a lot.”

“Not tired of listening. Tired of just listening. You know.”

“Yeah, I know. You make it quite obvious. Everyone pretends they don’t know.”

“I know they pretend.”

“You’re not embarrassed?”

“No.”

“You ought to be.”

“I’m not.”

“Then maybe you should listen to me, when I tell you I’m not very good at dating.”

“I heard you, I just…”

“What?”

“Well, you tell me everything. That’s the point of me.”

“And what do you make of me?”

--

--

Shaun Manning
One Short Story Everyday

Co-owner of Booksweet, your community bookstore in Ann Arbor. Author and co-creator of the graphic novels ‘Macbeth: The Red King’ and ‘Hell, Nebraska.’