Blocked Animation: Failure

Rachel D'Erminio
One Side Project Challenge
2 min readJul 6, 2016
Sometimes plans don’t work out and you have to wistfully stare into large bodies of water to make yourself feel better.

Sometimes good intentions, best efforts, and smart planning are not enough. Much like an unseen puddle at the bottom of the playground slide can ruin a pair of pants, unexpected events can ruin a project. Dear readers (all five of you), my animation is that slide and I am at the bottom with a wet butt. (Figuratively, of course.)

I plotted out the steps I’d need to take in order to create my animation, and I tried my hardest to look into the near future to make sure I’d have the time to follow through. But now it’s the end of June and I am nowhere near halfway through my side project.

Life got in the way. I bought a house, I moved, I took on more work than usual to help pay for said house and move. All good excuses for why I put aside my side project, but in the end that’s all they are — excuses.

I could have found the time if I really wanted to. I could have sat at my drawing tablet after a long day of working/cleaning, but I didn’t. I read instead. Or took a long bath. Or sat in front of the TV. The real problem is I wanted to do those things more than I wanted to work on Blocked. Relaxation won out over creation.

Bummer, man.

That isn’t to say I’m giving up on this animation. It’s just that I know now that it won’t be done this year. I don’t have the passion for it right now, and I don’t want it to be mediocre because I forced myself forward.

Sometimes you have to push on and push through the lack of time and interest. However, in this case I choose to push pause. I’ll wait for the day when the spark is back. That may be next month, or next year, or never.

Thanks for coming along with me and Quincy.

Did you like this piece? Recommend it 💚 !
Interested in other cool projects? Check out and follow the One Side Project Challenge publication. I will give project updates on the 3rd of every month, so stay tuned.


Rachel D’Erminio is a freelance illustrator/animator. Her website is raetastic.com

--

--

Rachel D'Erminio
One Side Project Challenge

Designer & Illustrator by day, author by night. I make dogs walk and babies sleep. Raetastic.com