Blocked Animation: Tests

Rachel D'Erminio
One Side Project Challenge
2 min readMay 3, 2016

Before you can run you must learn to walk. So I dusted off my copy of The Animator’s Survival Kit and got down to work.

Animating walk cycles is harder than you’d think!

The goal this month was to figure out an animation workflow. In the end, I decided to set up a simple puppet rig and animate it with Toon Boom Harmony. A puppet rig is like a 2D version of stop motion animation. Rather than draw out each frame from scratch, I manipulate vector layers into new positions. To make the puppet I drew out all of Quincy’s body parts, assigning each one to its own layer. Then I connected all those layers into chains based on how the body moves. For example, a hand is connected to an arm, which is then connected to the body. When I rotate the arm around at the shoulder joint, the hand automatically follows. This lets me pose Quincy with a few key frames, and the computer fills in all the frames in between.

So many key frames!

I was hoping to make up puppet rigs for all 3 characters and work out the origami birds in 3D, but life got in the way a bit this month. Next month I’ll experiment with the other characters and get started on background art and look for some voice actors. Please come back and check it out!

The frame rate on these gifs is a bit slow.

Did you like this piece? Recommend it 💚 !
Interested in other cool projects? Check out and follow the One Side Project Challenge publication. I will give project updates on the 3rd of every month, so stay tuned.


Rachel D’Erminio is a freelance illustrator/animator. Her website is raetastic.com

--

--

Rachel D'Erminio
One Side Project Challenge

Designer & Illustrator by day, author by night. I make dogs walk and babies sleep. Raetastic.com