It’s F*%^$%#king October — Kevin Mccallister

OMG — Where has the year gone

Or the lost months I learnt Sketch

pyemachine
One Side Project Challenge
2 min readOct 20, 2016

--

This is my sixth (should have been my 8th) monthly post from the One Side Project challengeA trunk of 16mm. You can follow the other chapters here.

Firstly apologies for the late update, especially to . It was an inspiring challenge she threw done and I whole heartedly accepted it (possibly naively). I am still motivated as ever to complete this project, but the life/work/children/shool runs/freelance/side project balance has been a little hard to maintain these last few months.

Old dog new tricks

This side project has always had an aspect about unearthing and learning new skills along the way and discovering Sketch has definitely been one of these. Working recently with a mobile app development team, they introduced me to Sketch and Zeplin and I was really impressed. The workflow that Sketch offered looked really appealing for not just this project but all my professional and freelance work in general. Further endorsement from a UX designer colleague on the Sketch community and it’s plethora of plugins, I started to make the switch from Photoshop to Sketch.

And that’s largely what I have been doing with any free time the last couple of months. From initial tutorials to cut my teeth on through to delivering some small projects at my work with it, I have started to get a good handle on the application, and quite frankly I love it.

So now it’s time to put what I have up-skilled in and put it into practice. I have started to re-do the initial frames for my site and also started to investigate some branding options for the project. A few of these are below.

Samples of logo exploration

Next steps

Pushing on!
I have reached out to my Dad to dig out some old photos of Victor and with what we find, I am hoping to design out the branding and home page of the site as a fully fledged design. Then I have a few other ideas bouncing around in my head, that may take the project in a slightly different direction. But I will save those for another update (hopefully on time).

Talk again :)

Feel free to give this article a recommend 💚 if you like it and follow my story on the One Side Project Challenge publication. I will be giving project update around the 17th of each month.

--

--

pyemachine
One Side Project Challenge

Web designer / Digital Producer / Interweb Procrastinator