A composed Cornucopia: Roasted Fall Fruits and Vegetables with maple, thyme and sage. Art and Side dish in one!

TheWellSeasonedLibrarian
One Table, One World
4 min readOct 26, 2020

--

Photo public domaine by Lynn Greyling

Roasted Fall Fruits and Vegetables with maple, thyme and sage. Why not have fruit and vetables together in this tasty side dish or vegetarian main course.

Years ago, I attended a potluck around Halloween time and someone brought this wonderful dish that was comprised of roasted fall vegtables and fruits. The whole of the dish was lightly glazed with real maple syrup — enough to sweeten but not cloying. There were a few exploded cranberries and a scattering or hazlenuts. I’ve searched in vain for the dish and even pestered the person who brought it, who does not remember where they bought it.

In response, I’ve dedcided to replicate this dish. As a trial run I recreated this dish from memory. As luck would have it, I had the ingredients on hand so it was a metter of method for the most part. I served the dish with a pork tenderloin wrapped in bacon and it was a huge success. I had used red and yellow carrots in this dish and with the yams, pears and apples created a wonderful fall food tableau.

One thing I remembered in this process was the thyme and sage wich contributed quite a bit to the overall flavor of…

--

--

TheWellSeasonedLibrarian
One Table, One World

Dean Jones is a Librarian, Cookbook Reviewer, and writer. Dean lives in the SF Bay Area. wellseasonedlibrarian@gmail.com