Book Review:From Crook to Cook: Platinum Recipes from Tha Boss Dogg’s Kitchen by Snoop Dogg (2018)

TheWellSeasonedLibrarian
One Table, One World
6 min readAug 23, 2021

--

From Crook to Cook: Platinum Recipes from Tha Boss Dogg’s Kitchen
 Book by Snoop Dogg
Photo fair use by Chronicle Books (Publisher)

I gave “From Crook to Cook” a serious read, and I loved what I saw. I think you will too! Give this cookbook your undivided attention. You will be glad you did.

I have never listened too much Snoop Dogg over the years. I remember one of his first videos when he first came on the scene, but it wasn’t anything I would normally listen to, so I thought “nice enough” but wasn’t really buying his albums. I could not deny he was a good rapper and had infectious rhymes. I listened to more rap after I married my wife who listens to a lot of it and is more in touch with the popular music of our time (my tastes are odd and eclectic.)

I began seeing Snoop Dogg in films, and I was always happy to see him. He’s a fun actor and can win over any audience with his authenticity. I was doubly pleased when Snoop stepped into the food game with Martha Stewart, and he didn’t disappoint, often appearing on several TV shows (and commercials!) with her. I like his work and seeing his cookbook gave me the push to give it a read. My wife ended up buying it for me and it didn’t disappoint.

--

--

TheWellSeasonedLibrarian
One Table, One World

Dean Jones is a Librarian, Cookbook Reviewer, and writer. Dean lives in the SF Bay Area. wellseasonedlibrarian@gmail.com