Cooking Doesn’t Have to be Hard

Benya Clark
One Table, One World
4 min readApr 3, 2019

--

Photo by Syd Wachs on Unsplash

Until my mid-twenties, I thought of myself as a person who just couldn’t cook. I only knew a handful of basic recipes, and I rarely used them. The vast majority of what I ate came pre-made from the grocery store or take-out restaurants.

I was under the mistaken impression that cooking always had to be difficult and complex — like what you see in the cooking competition shows on TV. I didn’t realize that most home cooking can actually be relatively easy and stress-free.

Around the age of 25, I started to get sick of all the pre-made food I was constantly eating. I decided that I would try my best to learn how to cook. I didn’t have high expectations, but I was surprised to find out that it really wasn’t so hard to make delicious food.

Over the past 7 years or so, I’ve continued to improve my cooking. Along the way, I’ve learned a lot of things that can make learning to cook easier. For anyone starting the cooking journey, I hope these tips can help you as much as they’ve helped me:

Use Recipes With Just a Few Ingredients

Sometimes it can be fun to cook a complicated recipe with 15 or 20 ingredients, but it’s a terrible idea when you’re just starting out. The best thing for a new cook to do is to start with recipes that only use a handful of ingredients. The…

--

--

Benya Clark
One Table, One World

I’m a lawyer turned writer from North Carolina. I write about sobriety, mental health, and more. Subscribe to my weekly newsletter at exploringsobriety.com.