Currant Buns: Morning bun that should be a household mainstay.

TheWellSeasonedLibrarian
One Table, One World
4 min readAug 5, 2019

--

Photo Credit: Dean Jones

I am a patron of the local bakery “Acme Bakery” that has among its various breadstuffs a lovely Current Bun. I’ve never really thought to make them, although I have tried variations from time to time. Recently I enjoyed a few of these delicious buns -so thoroughly that I decided “I need to give this a go” for my household. The results were popular with my family and I thought to share the recipe with you.

The currant bun has been a tea shop or bakery staple and is very popular all over the British Isles. First mentioned in the Beatrix Potter children’s books, this sweet but not overly sweet bread would have no doubt been popular with children in many British homes.

A currant bun is a European sweet bun that contains currants or raisins. The Current Bun is delicious when eaten warm with butter. Often served as a tea time treat this delicious bread could also become a ‘go-to’ for the breakfast table, brunch or afternoon pick me up.

Currant Buns are similar to “Hot Cross Buns”, Chelsea Buns and other enriched buns that are sold all over the British isles and utilize dried fruit. Variations of this recipe for an enriched bun exist all over the British Isles and vary in the types of fruit and spice that they contain.

--

--

TheWellSeasonedLibrarian
One Table, One World

Dean Jones is a Librarian, Cookbook Reviewer, and writer. Dean lives in the SF Bay Area. wellseasonedlibrarian@gmail.com