Five Types of Coffee

Tastes and memories from my travels

Anne Harrison
One Table, One World
5 min readDec 16, 2019

--

On a street corner in Vietnam © A. Harrison

My obsession with finding the perfect brew is no surprise to those who know me. After all, I roast my own beans, to complement my indulgence of an Italian espresso machine (thank you redundancy payout). How can I not be inspired by the fact the Italians designed an espresso maker capable of working in the zero gravity of the International Space Station?

So, when travelling, my quest for a decent coffee is half of the adventure. Here are five of my favourites — so far.

Just loved this sign in Naples © A. Harrison

i) The God Shot

In coffee parlance, the God Shot refers to the perfect espresso. Mine was in Naples (though a few others in Italy proved very close rivals).

Naples was an amazing discovery. Even in the height of summer the only crowds were outside the gelateria and two pizzerias competing to be the best in the city. En route to the Archaeological Museum (not to be missed) is The Bar Mexico. A strange name for a cafe in Naples, but well worth a visit.

It is an unassuming place near the Piazza Dante. Inside was immaculate, with both the bar and the machines gleaming. Two men in white…

--

--

Anne Harrison
One Table, One World

At 10 I discovered travel, books and philosophy. Now I pass my days with a camera in one hand, a notebook in the other, looking for the perfect coffee.