FOOD|FOOD WRITING|WRITING|CREATIVE WRITING

Meals on (Two) Wheels

Mario López-Goicoechea
One Table, One World

--

Persepolis, Peckham High St: a taste of Persia in SE15

My feast (all photos by author)

I wish I could say that I cycled to Persepolis in Peckham, southeast London, from my little corner in Tottenham, north of the river, just to try their food. But that would be incorrect. I was already in the area, having enjoyed the good vibes of CLF Art Lounge, London’s hottest daytime venue for Latin, African, and Afro-Latin music nowadays. Feeling slightly peckish after a melody-rich afternoon, I decided to stop at Persepolis for a bite.

It was the right decision to make.

This canary-yellow cornershop is an invasion of the senses. From the moment one strolls in through the door one is assailed by the smells wafting out of the kitchen, the various offers in the deli and the sound of Persian music (at least I thought it was Persian) coming out of the speakers. I couldn’t ask for more, especially as I was about to face a trip up the CS7 on my two-wheeler, on a Saturday night.

Persepolis is the new Peckham through and through. The clientele wouldn’t be out of place somewhere like Hackney or Shoreditch. I saw enough tote bags urging people to “fill this town with artists” to make my mind up about the kind of patrons who frequent this kind of restaurant. Still, old Peckham is just…

--

--