Move Over Breakfast Sandos: Grab-and-go just got better. Gyeranppang recipe.

TheWellSeasonedLibrarian
One Table, One World
6 min readJan 4, 2021

--

Public Domain photo by travel oriented from Seoul, South Korea — gyeranbbang 계란빵, CC BY-SA 2.0,

Gyeranppang is the South Korean street breakfast of your dreams. Here I have modified it to be made without the Gyeranppang machine, and create it in your oven.

If you are like me, you follow a lot of Youtube videos on food. I watch a variety of videos that often feature food from around the world. I saw one such video with a Korean street food vendor making masses of Gyeranppang for busy pedestrians. (I’m sure that this was before Covid) A Gyeranppang machine is an appliance with a few dozen oblong slots for pouring cake batter and eggs. A whole egg is cracked onto the batter in each slot, and the egg breads are cooked till golden brown. Watching the vendor flit around to each mold and mass produce these eggy treats was very entertaining. I immediately wanted to make some of these for my family and decided I would figure this out for myself.

Gyeranppang looks on the surface like a weird cross between a souffle pancake and a egg sandwich. Gyeranppang is a warm street vendor food sold throughout South Korea. This treat has a fluffy base that holds the egg like a nest, and then is topped with a variety of toppings including ham, bacon, cheese or other things.

I have added some differences in what I’ve seen and you can certainly do the same. I’ve taken precautions to…

--

--

TheWellSeasonedLibrarian
One Table, One World

Dean Jones is a Librarian, Cookbook Reviewer, and writer. Dean lives in the SF Bay Area. wellseasonedlibrarian@gmail.com