Photo by NomNomPaleo

Roasted Tomato Soup To Die For

Blistering heat, garlic, olive oil and salt take gnarly-end-of-season-tomatoes to new levels of delicious.

Kim Duke
One Table, One World
6 min readNov 3, 2020

--

This year my little garden pumped out over 200 lbs of tomatoes. I confess that may be because I planted 20 plants in a pandemic panic. I’ve blanched, frozen and canned 80% of them and the rest we’ve eaten fresh. I’m a die-hard homegrown tomato snob but even I’ve hit the tomato wall.

I still have one large bowl of weird, gnarly tomatoes left on the counter. Look at this dude:

Photo of alien tomato by Kim Duke.
A face only a tomato lover could love.

Maybe you have some weird or wizened tomatoes too. (I forgive you if you bought them from a store. But never keep tomatoes in the fridge as a strange chemical reaction happens and they turn mealy, mushy, and lose all flavor.)

I digress. There’s really only one thing to do.

I let the gnarly tomatoes ripen as much as possible until the day I want roasted tomato soup. And then all bets are off. I don’t care if they…

--

--

Kim Duke
One Table, One World

I happily write about food, nature and quirks of life. Heated. Mind Cafe. P.S. I Love You. Writing coach for women. Creator of Scribbly. www.kimdukewrites.com