Sausage and Sauerkraut in Regensburg

In the world’s oldest continually serving restaurant

Anne Harrison
One Table, One World
4 min readNov 23, 2021

--

The Wurstküche Restaurant © A. Harrison

Strolling along the banks of the Danube in Regensburg, I left the troubles of the world far behind. In true fairy tale style the water sparkled under the sunshine. Birds were all a twitter, trees offered shady places to sit, and I walked past gardens heavy with bloom. Had I stopped to listen, I’m sure I’d have heard some very contented bees.

Regensburg is a town of picture-perfect alleyways and old buildings. Like so much of Bavaria, it seems better suited to the romance of forgotten times than the practicalities of the modern world. Few cars are allowed in the centre of the town, adding to the charm.

Laneways and courtyards, details of a pulpit in the cathedral, and the idyllic river bank © A. Harrison

Opposite the cathedral we found a cafe offering beer from the local Abbey. As we sipped on the local brew I watched an elderly priest dressed in a flowing black cassock and leaning on a cane made his way slowly up the cathedral stairs. Out the back of the cafe (always use the bathroom, you never know what you…

--

--

Anne Harrison
One Table, One World

At 10 I discovered travel, books and philosophy. Now I pass my days with a camera in one hand, a notebook in the other, looking for the perfect coffee.