Spice up Your Travel With a Cooking Course

Learning the cuisine during your trip enriches your experience

Andrew Dacey
One Table, One World

--

Inside the pizza oven. Photo by the author

One of the best ways to experience a different culture is through their food. For me, it’s one of the great joys of travelling. If you’re like me and like to cook as well as eat, then taking a cooking class on your next trip can be a fantastic experience.

When I lived in Southeast Asia, I’d wanted to take the time to learn some of the local cooking, either in Thailand or Vietnam. It’s one of my great regrets that I didn’t manage to organise that, but it was the early 2000’s and my internet access while there was very limited so I didn’t have the opportunity to do the necessary research.

When my partner and I were planning a week in Florence, I knew that was the perfect opportunity. We were already excited to eat some fabulous Italian food, why not try our hands at cooking some as well?

Airbnb to the rescue

We took this trip in 2017. One of the new features that Airbnb had added was the ability to book “experiences”. Since we were already handling our accommodations through them, it seemed like the logical next step.

I don’t enjoy overplanning for a trip. I like to leave a lot of unstructured time to allow for simply wandering…

--

--

Andrew Dacey
One Table, One World

London-based writer and storyteller. Striving to use my personal experiences to make connections. Geek and avid tabletop gamer. With the odd political post.