The Best Soup I Ever Made

from what was in the fridge

Ellen M. Shapiro
One Table, One World

--

It looks like a big egg yolk in this picture, but it’s the most delicious soup I’ve ever made…with ingredients that were hanging around in the refrigerator.

We had this collapsed, cooked buttercup squash in the fridge. I’d roasted it the night before, but it looked kind of unappetizing, especially in the hot weather. And a bunch of celery and some decent-looking carrots were in the vegetable bin.

Shall I throw away that squash, I asked myself. No, make soup with it. I surprised myself.

It was so good. Hot that day, and cold, for lunch, the next.

I bet you’ll feel the same way about this recipe:

1 medium buttercup or other winter squash
1 onion
1 celery stalk
1 carrot
2 tsp butter*
1 apple
1 tsp salt
1/2 tsp grated orange rind
1/2 cup cream*

  1. Cut the winter squash in half lengthwise, scoop out the seeds, and put it in a roasting pan with a little water. Roast at 350 for 45 minutes or so or until soft.
  2. Peel and cut the onion, carrot and…

--

--

Ellen M. Shapiro
One Table, One World

My career is designing and writing about design. Here, I can write about lots of things. My short fiction attempts to capture and evoke past moments in time.