What To Eat When You're Sick On The Keto Diet

Don't let a cold or flu derail your progress.

Shannon Ashley
One Table, One World

--

Oh great. It looks like I caught my daughter's cold virus pretty early into my new keto lifestyle. The other night, I struggled to sleep with a nasty sore throat. Usually, I'd be drinking tons of tea with honey, but sugar is out on the ketogenic diet.

So what's a miserable mama to do?

The main thing for me at the moment is that I'm achy all over, and I've got a sore throat. But I don't want to rely upon sugar-free lozenges which make your mouth taste gross and do have carbs.

And I don't know about you, but I'm typically the kind of person to use any excuse to derail my diet. Because honestly? I just want to eat some damn comfort food.

So I decided to give myself a break and not track my macros so seriously, but still keep my carbs low, my fat high, and my protein moderate.

I made creamy chicken soup.

Earlier in the week, I made some bone broth out of a whole chicken. This is some very high-quality broth that firms up like Jello in the fridge from the…

--

--

Shannon Ashley
One Table, One World

It's not about being flawless, it's about being honest. Calling out vipers since 2018 🍵 https://ko-fi.com/shannonashley 📧 truthurts.substack.com