Photo by BBC.co.uk

Winter Is Coming! Get Your Root Vegetables Ready.

This simple French comfort dish works with all of them.

Kim Duke
4 min readNov 5, 2020

--

It lightly snowed for the first time a few days ago in my neck of the Canadian woods and strangely, the first thought that popped into my head was, “I need to stock up on root vegetables.”

What can I say? I root for root vegetables.

I always have potatoes, carrots, beets, and onions on hand but I wanted more of my earthy favorites. Sweet potatoes, yams, parsnips, and turnips are delicious but are often overlooked in the grocery aisle.

Why? On the outside, vegetables that are grown deep in the dirt typically have muted, moody and mysterious colors like the still life paintings of the Dutch Old Masters.

Photo by Louvre.fr

Root vegetables aren’t flashy but they do deserve your attention and a place at your dinner table. (And yes, sometimes my dinner table looks as messy as this.)

All of these tasty vegetables are tight-budget-worthy, in season and they store well. And the best part? They are capable of so much more than you think.

One Simple Dish Rules Them All

--

--

Kim Duke

I happily write about food, nature, and quirks of life. Creator of Scribbly: a snail mail writing program that you need in your life! www.kimdukewrites.com