Gatorade Doesn’t Want Lazy People Drinking Their Product

Worst Marketing Strategy Ever

Kevin Escalera
One Take At A Time
2 min readSep 23, 2016

--

Gatorade marketing executives have done the unthinkable, and basically told people that to drink their product, they need to exercise.

Gatorade’s new digital video series called “Burn It To Earn It” stars pro athletes surprising everyday people and challenge them to work up a sweat. If they are not physically active, they are deemed not worthy of a Gatorade.

Worst. Marketing Campaign. Ever.

Everyone knows that the best part about drinking a Gatorade is the lack of mental guilt.

Over the past 50 years, Gatorade marketers have done their voodoo magic and gotten to the point where people mentally trick themselves into thinking Gatorade is for athletes, so drinking them must be healthy.

How People Have Been Trained To Think:

  • Soda = Unhealthy
  • Gatorade = Healthy

This new marketing campaign has the potential to erase all of this.

After 50 years, Gatorade is now telling me I have to work for my Riptide Rush or Glacier Freeze?!? I don’t think so.

There are some food and drinks that you exercise for. A Gatorade will NEVER be one of those items.

I will never “reward” myself for r̶u̶n̶n̶i̶n̶g̶ walking on the treadmill for 10 minutes with a Gatorade. No, sir. If I get my ass of the couch, I am likely rewarding myself with a Wendy’s Baconator and three or four sugary cocktails.

That cake will NEVER be a Gatorade.

If Gatorade keeps telling me I have to “earn” a Gatorade, I will be forced to move onto something much healthier.

Hello, Powerade!

If you liked this take, please click the💚 below!

--

--

Kevin Escalera
One Take At A Time

Marketing Strategist who gives occasional sports takes @OneTakeAtATime