Gary H
One Thousand and Beyond
2 min readApr 19, 2023

--

Photo by Jannes Glas on Unsplash

So it has been a little over two weeks since I have last written about my experience at the Medium Academy and this is down to a number of reasons. With it being so new and fresh to me (this writing thing) I am still trying to establish this as part of my weekly routine and get finger-bashing on the keyboard to make some words appear on my screen. However, here I am, showing up for the second time and getting some words on the screen.

The next task in this journey to becoming a consistent (if anything!) Medium writer was to work out what I was going to write about!

This started with me trying to imagine a fictional character in my head. What age they were, what part of the world they lived in, what they like doing in their spare time and possibly most importantly, what industry they belong to. Now, for some people this may sound pretty straightforward but for someone who has avoided all sorts of creative work throughout his life, it was a challenge and took some time to come to terms with it.

I think I managed to boil it down to what type of person I will be writing for through a series of questions which were provided as part of the Academy. I do feel that this could be pretty fluent at the start of my journey and as time goes on I will really cement my idea of what I want to write about and for who.

Not only was I tasked with working on who I would be writing for but also what I would be writing, obviously. My background has predominantly been football-focused and within this, I have helped volunteer at a grassroots club for a number of years as well as having a keen passion for coaching, whether that be in football or any other sport. There isn’t any other feeling like knowing you have helped a participant develop into a better player, team-mate or person by coaching them on the correct technique to a skill. It is golden.

My plan is to try and find something within this to provide likeminded coaches, volunteer coaches or parents to help develop individuals or the grassroots club itself by sharing the experiences that I have been through over the last 10 or so years where I have volunteered over 1000s of hours.

I will help you overcome challenges, provide a solid footing to push your club/player forward and give you real-life insights into the running of a football club with over 250 members.

Well, at least that is the plan…

--

--