How to Start a YouTube Channel

My experience in finding new business leads

Ciprian Radu
One Thousand and Beyond
2 min readJul 5, 2022

--

Image courtesy of author

The title of this article is the words that I typed while searching for a clear strategy to gain leads for my consulting business. It felt natural to do this search and I was hopeful that I will find what I needed. The truth is that I didn’t know what I needed.

What I was after?

After watching something like 30 videos from step-by-step instructions on creating the actual channel, the strategy to follow to gain followers, and tips&tricks on optimizing the channel, I understood that I was searching for a way to connect my business needs to the YouTube ecosystem. For me, that meant having a strategy.

Who can help me with this quest

I am a business consultant focused on specific areas that I know very well so it came naturally for me to start looking for someone similar that had already done this YouTube thing and can guide me. So I checked my list of YouTube subscriptions and came across channels that had millions of followers (even tens of millions), hundreds of thousands, and so on. I searched for someone that has successfully grown their channel, that is not focusing only on YouTube to gain money, and preferably has a strategy in place of connecting social platforms to their business. I found all of this in Mark Ellis Reviews so I sent him an email and asked for help!

What I understood so far

At first, it came to me as some sort of a disappointment: that I have to give my knowledge for free and expect nothing in return. Quite difficult to grasp this, since my business is actually using my knowledge in implementing solutions for my clients and getting paid.

But then it hit me! I will be adding something new to my business, from offering “just” a service to offering education and services, or even better education services. Do you know what’s funny? That I’ve been meaning to do this for some time, but I didn’t know how to approach it. It seems creating a YouTube channel will give me the means to do it.

What’s next?

I have a list of activities to do that are part of my YouTube strategy. In my next articles, I plan to document my experience with:

  • clarifying my target audience
  • content planning
  • setting up my “studio”
  • gaining consistency
  • publishing my first videos
  • and monitoring the impact of the channel on the lead generation for my business.

--

--