Starting the Journey…

Photo by Pawel Janiak on Unsplash

Hallo, Alan here. I’m starting my Medium journey thanks to Mark Ellis and his entertaining and engaging medium academy.

As a result of taking the academy, I am inspired to ‘document my journey’ as a middle aged guy (aMaG). It’s an important journey to take as it’s easy for men to start winding down or indeed giving up at this crucial moment in life.

Over the summer of 2020, I worked my way through a YouTube programme by Primal Video. It was great and is still great, as I’m still referring back to it even now to help me understand how to grow on YouTube.

I took the training opportunity to document and curate my journey via a Middle Aged Guy YouTube channel. Owning my middle agedness seemed to be the best course of action, creaks and all…

The videos highlights part of my journey post 2008 and more the recovery stage and trying to get back up again after losing it all in 2010.

Post 2008 the world seemed to pivot and the language and approach of business changed rapidly. Now when I go to meetups everyone is a CEO, a Founder, a startup and the golden threads running through this world are called personal brand and content creator.

These threads are great and entertaining to consume but creating and producing them myself, well that’s a different, out of comfort zone activity…

So my intention with aMaG is one of documenting my journey into understanding this new world whilst giving a nod to my main channel Talkfunding.

It will be evident from the start I like to talk, listen and laugh but I don’t have a clue most of the time, let alone a technical clue…

Let the Journey begin…

Alan

--

--

Talkfunding Campaign Videos with Alan Jones
One Thousand and Beyond

We are a growing platform who interview crowdfunding campaigns to amplify their campaign, business and brand.