b wrauley
2 min readApr 23, 2016

5km Run Abandonment

Date #795 — Wednesday, February 10, 2016

A: We went on a run for Discover Your Wild and halfway through B took off and I couldn’t keep up! Moments earlier I raced to catch up to B (I was a few feet behind) and he kidn of scoffed so I said, “Hey, can I run beside you?” and he said, “No.” I laughed out loud kind of obnoxiously and I could tell that ALSO bothered him.. So yeah. It was obvious to me that B needed time to himself and I didn’t take it personally. I was feeling really good and I saw the signs of his irritation so I wasn’t surprised that he ran off like that. I think it would’ve bothered me if I didn’t like running alone so much. I think it worked out. Everyone has their moments, and sometimes you’ve just gotta roll with it.

B: I was so happy to be going on a run with A. I run faster than her but I initially wanted to run with her so I went slower. Often, when I run in cold weather, my skin feels super irritated from the sweat drying on my skin. I was feeling this when I snapped at A. I was so irritated I couldn’t even communicate how I was feeling.

When I took off it took me a long time to even realize what happened. It feels like I’m in a middle section of working through the balance of feeling irritated and properly dealign with that. It seems like I’m taking the space I need, but not necessarily telling people I need that space.

Thankfully A knows me better than I know myself sometimes and can see this coming. I owe it to her to get better at communicating.

via One Thousand Dates http://ift.tt/1VKgnjc