b wrauley
2 min readOct 6, 2016

Rock Climbing With Our New Gear

Date #837 — Tuesday, April 19, 2016

B: We’ve been climbing so much and borrowing rental gear from Basecamp. Because I work there it doesn’t cost us anything, but I still feel weird borrowing rental gear.

I felt like we still looked amateurish in front of the staff. Ultimately I know the most important thing is that we’re climbing and the other worries may be vain or silly. The owner told us we’d feel better and more comfortable with our own shoes and harnesses, and it was very true.

One day at MEC they were putting out returned pairs of shoes that were still in good condition. The shoes were heavily discounted and I knew it was a sign. While our money was tight I told A it was a good investment. We each got a pair of shoes we really like.

Later, when climbing at Basecamp we got some new harnesses. I had a modest discount, so sure enough I suggested to A that we get some. They fit well, can be used during our mountaineering adventures, and are really comfortable when climbing.

I feel so pro in our new stuff. Yay climbing!

A: RE: Date #834, seeeeeeeeee, this is the kind of thing B convinces me of when spending money! But we need it… Right? :)

I will say the shoes I got are amazing and make me a much more conifdent climber and I feel I’ll be able to get better at climbing because of having my own gear. Rental gear isn’t ideal if you want to get better at this sport. You’ve got to get your own stuff that fits you good and well and safely and then you can grow with it. Okay…. these are all the pros B told me and they’re true and so we got our own gear. Hah. *face palm*

via One Thousand Dates http://ift.tt/2d6af3A