How to find meaning when life sucks

It has nothing to do with you sucking, yet everything to do with you

Dave Smurthwaite
One Truth
2 min readDec 22, 2019

--

Thanks to averie woodard on Unsplash for the photo

I’ve been struggling with debilitating self-doubt the past week, the nasty kind that leaves me questioning the road ahead, the road behind, and the road leading in any other possible direction.

In the moments when I succumb to the darkness, I feel little but the stupidity of my choices.

“How do you possibly think this can lead to any good?” the voice inside sneers.

“You’re a fool to continue on. Turn back. Run away”

I feel like a Grade-A sucker, duped into thinking that I, of all people, was destined for greatness

Thankfully, God is there to remind me that life’s hardships are not about feeling LIKE a sucker, but learning HOW to succor.

He has placed me square into the difficult things of life, so that I may know what difficult feels like for someone else.

Furthermore, it’s only when we’re being swallowed up by darkness that we can feel the full effects of rescue. God is expert at comforting us, “that we, [in turn] may be able to comfort them which are in any trouble” (2 Corinthians 1)

One of the greatest gifts of the atonement was the introduction of perfect empathy into God’s plan. The Savior willingly took ‘upon him [our] infirmities… that he may know according to the flesh how to succor his people according to their infirmities” (Alma 7:12)

We likewise gain slices of that divine gift each time we pass through our personal Gardens of Gethsemane

I’m grateful to be reminded that darkness has its divine purpose and that we, as eternal beings, have both a divine destiny and a divine charge to help all those around us realize their own.

“Let us therefore come boldly unto the throne of grace, that we may obtain mercy, and find grace to help in time of need” (Hebrews 4:16)

Thanks for reading!
My name is Dave Smurthwaite, I’m a husband, father of four amazing boys, owner of a 16-year-old puppy, and an active member of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints. The views expressed above represent my personal path of faith. I’m eager to hear about yours.

If you’re interested in contributing please email me. You can also follow our family of eight as we’ve embarked on a journey of self-discovery, living in Spain, Rwanda, Vietnam, and Colombia over the next year. Find our stories here or Instagram (IG ID: @thesmurthwaites)

--

--

Dave Smurthwaite
One Truth

Helping you be happier & more creative by developing a Traveler Mindset: http://bit.ly/31SLsb2.