The Power of Choice in Uncertain Times

We all have the power to choose and to act, no matter the external forces at play

Dave Smurthwaite
One Truth
4 min readMar 19, 2020

--

Photo by Wolfgang Hasselmann on Unsplash

I’ve been reading in the scriptures about an allegory of an olive vineyard:

“Behold, thus saith the Lord, I will liken thee, O house of Israel, like unto a tame olive tree, which a man took and nourished in his vineyard; and it grew, and waxed old, and began to decay.” — Jacob, Chapter 5 in the Book of Mormon

As we explained to our kids earlier this week, allegories are stories that teach spiritual truths through symbols.

I’ve always read this particular allegory on a macro level:

  • The vineyard represents the world
  • The trees represent groupings of people at different points in history
  • And the Lord of the vineyard represents the Creator

This time, however, as I’ve read about relatable periods of calamity and looming destruction, my mind has been caught up in a micro version of this story.

Not to seem presumptuous, but I’ve seen myself as the Lord of the vineyard, which is my world filled with trees (individuals) I know and love.

Some of the trees in my vineyard are doing well, but most are suffering right now, either materially, physically, or emotionally.

In the allegory, the Lord of the vineyard says multiple times “What could I do more for my vineyard?” This is especially prevalent during periods when the weeds of destruction and corruption threaten to take over:

And it came to pass that the Lord of the vineyard said unto his servant: Let us go down into the nethermost parts of the vineyard, and behold if the natural branches have also brought forth evil fruit… .And it came to pass that they beheld that the fruit of the natural branches had become corrupt also; yea, the first and the second and also the last; and they had all become corrupt… .And it came to pass that the Lord of the vineyard wept, and said unto the servant: what could I have done more for my vineyard? (Jacob 5: 38, 39, 41)

Notwithstanding the negative internal and external forces at play, the Creator continues to dig and prune and pluck and graft and wait.

At times he’s ready to throw in the towel, saying essentially there’s nothing more to do here:

“And it came to pass that the Lord of the vineyard said unto the servant: Let us go to and hew down the trees of the vineyard and cast them into the fire, that they shall not cumber the ground of my vineyard, for I have done all. What could I have done more for my vineyard?” (Jacob 5: 49)

Thankfully he’s surrounded by others that say, essentially, “Don’t worry. Give it time. Things will work out.”

So what more can I do for my vineyard today?

Looking at this allegory from a micro-level helps me to remember that I have power, even when the world seems to be crumbling around me. I have the power to choose and the power to act and no one, not pandemics or natural disasters or any other catastrophe can take that away from me.

So, looking at the example of the Master, what can I do more today for my vineyard?

  • First and foremost I can show up and dig and prune and pluck and graft, even if it seems pointless or hopeless at the moment.
  • I can focus on the needs of individual trees instead of getting lost in the immensity of caring for an entire vineyard.
  • I can donate my time and talents and money to help treat the trees in my vineyard that are dying, recognizing that time is not time, talents are not talents, and money is not money. It is all love, the purest and most effective fertilizer known to mankind.
  • I can give myself permission to feel all the feels, including bouts of despair. If it was okay for the Lord, it’s perfectly okay for me.
  • I can listen, listen for voices of hope that are rising in the moments that I’m sinking.
  • I can also wait and realize that time is also an eternal tool used by a divine Creator and that nothing ever remains the same.
  • I can remember that I’ve been promised that things will always get better, eventually.
  • I can even make a silly sketch on my iPhone and post it for my vineyard to see, hoping it helps one tree:
My silly sketch shared on social media

Perhaps all I can do today is one or two or none of the above, but I grateful to know I can do something and that I’m not a victim of my circumstances.

Thanks for all you’re doing in your vineyards.

You’re an inspiration to me!

Love,
The Master of a Tiny Vineyard

--

--

Dave Smurthwaite
One Truth

Helping you be happier & more creative by developing a Traveler Mindset: http://bit.ly/31SLsb2.