Repeat Travel: Why I Love Traveling to the Same Places

Christa Adams
One Voyage Away
Published in
4 min readJul 2, 2019

--

There’s something deeply alluring about Morocco. Maybe it’s the intricate patterns and endless colors, the chaotic souks or the Call to Prayer echoing over its cities. Or perhaps it’s the fresh smell of mint tea and vegetable tajine that does it for me. Whatever it is, it keeps me returning.

I’ve been to Morocco a few times now and I’m already dreaming of my next trip. People ask why I don’t just go somewhere I haven’t been before instead of planning yet another trip to Morocco. But the thing is, if you enjoy something, don’t you want to do it again? You have one delicious piece of chocolate cake and that’s it — no more chocolate cake for the rest of your life! Would you do that? Of course not!

There are those, however, who travel with the main agenda of checking items off a long list of “must sees” and “must dos.” If you’re this type of traveler: what are you really traveling for? Yourself or the idea you want others to perceive of you from your travels? What experience are you taking away from this?

I believe if you are truly a passionate traveler, you’ll repeat beloved destinations over again, even if you’re like me and still have a long list of other places you’d still like to visit. Here’s why.

--

--