Swimmer Story: Claire Gorder

One With the Ocean
One With the Ocean
Published in
6 min readJun 16, 2021

The transition from pool to the ocean presents unexpected challenges, even to the most experienced swimmers (just ask founder Bryan). The cold, waves, being in deep water — everyone’s dealing with something. That’s where a community like OWO really shows up. As she prepares for her first marathon swim, LA-based member Claire Gorder shares what led her to the ocean and how it’s changed her life.

How did you become one with the ocean?

I’ve been a pool swimmer my entire life — I think I started when I was two! But I always had a fear of the ocean. I was scared of the waves and would never go past my knees. Then in January 2019, two friends and I made a new year’s resolution to do the two-mile Dwight Crum Pier-to-Pier race from Hermosa Beach to Manhattan Beach in LA. I hadn’t swum much since high school, so I searched for an ocean swimming group and found One With the Ocean.

I started swimming in the ocean every Saturday, but then COVID hit, and all the pools were closed. A small group of us kept meeting at the beach to swim a few times a week. Now, having got back into the classroom teaching just four weeks ago, I’ve spent the whole year swimming in the ocean. We even swam in the dark through the winter so I could make it back in time for school. I often wonder what I’d be doing if I hadn’t committed to that resolution and conquered my fear to finish the Pier-to-Pier.

What do you love most about open water swimming?

I’m an anxious person, and when I was younger, pool swimming gave me time to sift through my thoughts. It’s why I particularly love swimming in the morning because I get to think about the day ahead. But in the ocean, while you’re still alone with your thoughts, you also have to maintain a heightened awareness of your surroundings — you can’t completely zone out. Ocean swimming allows me to calm down, think through my thoughts, but on longer swims, it also gives me a sense of adventure, and that awareness helps me feel more connected to the natural world.

What has open water swimming taught you about yourself?

I’m a planner. I used to get very stressed when things didn’t work out. But this year, having swum in the ocean frequently, one of the biggest lessons I’ve learned is how to relinquish control. It’s helped me make peace with unpredictability.

Ocean swimming has been my one constant during the pandemic, but conditions aren’t always predictable. The ocean has a mind of her own! Early on, I’d get frustrated when the waves were too big or it would rain. Then one day, I might get past the surf, and on other days I may not. I’d also beat myself up if I got cold and had to get out. However, my attitude has changed completely, and I just accept that I got to play in the waves and head to school happy.

How did you overcome or manage your fears?

My biggest challenge has been braving the larger waves and cold this winter. The fear hasn’t entirely gone away, and I get cold very quickly. But swimming more frequently has helped. Before this year, I only went on Saturdays. Back then, I didn’t listen to my instincts and felt pressured to stick with everybody else. If I couldn’t keep up, I would feel defeated.

A big part of getting through the waves is making the decision and then committing. I trust myself to find a way. Just going more frequently and building confidence has taught me to pick a time, trust my instincts and commit. I don’t allow myself to get into my head too much before getting in the water.

Are you currently training?

I’m training to swim around Coronado Island on June 18th. That was my new year’s resolution for 2021. I’m very strict about my new year’s resolutions! I’m a teacher and am usually very fulfilled by my job. But without seeing my students daily, I was unmotivated and frustrated, so it was essential to set a goal for myself this year.

I’ve contemplated doing a marathon swim ever since I started ocean swimming and met Kelbi Schnabel, who was training to swim the English Channel. At the time, I was focused on finishing the two-mile Pier-to-Pier race — swimming 26 miles seemed impossible, but I was intrigued. I was inspired to swim Coronado by three other OWO swimmers who’ve supported me throughout training.

How important is community in open water swimming?

I joined one group for my second time in the water when I was still too scared to even put my head in, and everyone swam off and left me! Then Kelbi stopped and asked if I was okay. She told me I could swim with her, and instead of sighting, look out for her green cap. That camaraderie is so important. You need to know that people aren’t going to leave you behind!

Also, one of the biggest challenges I face in training for a marathon swim is my work schedule, but the OWO community has been so supportive. I’m highly dependent on them because I’ve never done this before, and I have a ton of questions! I’ve chatted with Craig, who runs the Boston group, and swam with the crew in San Diego, many of whom are training for longer stuff. The support has been mind-blowing. My Coronado swim starts at five am so some OWO swimmers have even volunteered to do a few practice swims where we will get in the water at 5 am so that I can practice for the big swim!

Do you have any top tips for anyone thinking about dipping their toe in open water for the first time?

Move at your own pace. You know what you’re comfortable with. If you don’t feel like diving under waves, play in the whitewater that day. Or, if you think it’s time, commit and go. It’s never a bad day at the beach, and you never need to feel like you need to be at the same level as everyone else. It’s also important to know who you can turn to for advice and support, so be sure to find a supportive group.

What is your greatest open water-related achievement so far?

I’ve been helping Bryan develop the curriculum for One with the Ocean’s Play in the Waves program. Aside from building confidence and taking on longer swims, it’s been one of the most rewarding experiences. Especially this year, when I’ve not seen my students in person. I empathize with our Play in the Waves students — they’re often nervous. It feels good to help others after so many people helped me.

I often think about how long I waited to get over my fear of the ocean, and I’m so proud of these middle and high schoolers who’re growing in confidence in the water. I love to see how excited they become after just a few weeks. We were out recently when a pod of dolphins arrived, and I thought, wow, this is probably the first time they’ve been swimming with dolphins. I remember what that feels like. It’s been a very cool experience, and I’m looking forward to seeing OWO’s Play in the Waves program grow.

--

--

One With the Ocean
One With the Ocean

One With the Ocean is a 501(c)3 whose members are open water swimmers and ocean conservationists fighting to protect what we love.