Ukemeabasi
one40plus tMe
Published in
3 min readOct 27, 2016

--

The one in which I freak out about Microsoft Studio

I'm super excited to see the new Surface desktop experience, Microsoft Surface Studio!!!

If you didn’t already know the history of Surface, here’s a primer.

The Surface tablets you know aren’t the original Surface.

Gosh!

The original is now called PixelSense and was first released in April 2008. The first Surface tablet was released in October 2012.

The idea for PixelSense actually originated around 2001 in a collaboration between Microsoft Hardware and Microsoft Research.

The initial prototype was baically an IKEA-ish table with a sheet of architect vellum!

I saw PixelSense for the first time in/near the Pokémon Store (I know. I’m a blerd) at Rockefeller Center Plaza when I was visiting with my college roommates around 2008.

It was still called Surface then and we played interactive games, messed around with the mapping feature, and generally manhandled the table.

A few years later, I saw an even earlier version of the Surface table in one of the innovation hubs in Cambridge, Massachusetts (could have been at Microsoft NERD Center) during an unconference (it’s a real thing, I swear). I was still amazed by the surface computing experience.

When I looked it up on the web, I found out about the PixelSense rebranding and the emergence of the Surface tablet series.

I also found out that PixelSense was essentially only available to institutions and you had to apply to get one (kind of like the early days of Google Glass, but way more expensive).

Fast forward to today and I’m looking at something called Microsoft Surface Studio that’s a massive Surface tablet with PixelSense-like gestures, and the sort of screen resolution we’ve come to expect from new Apple devices.

I’m so excited. The world is one more step closer to Tom Cruise’s finger magic in Minority Report and Robert Downey Jr’s Iron Man.

What a time to be alive!

This post originally appeared on my tumblog.

Thank you for reading this article. If you have questions, comments, or suggestions, please don’t hesitate to drop me a comment! I’d like to hear from you!

You can also find my photographs at https://www.instagram.com/esietukeme/.

--

--

Ukemeabasi
one40plus tMe

Connector and photographer passionate about sustainable development. 🧘🏾‍♂️|🌴|🔧 #LagMás