A Few Noticeable Ways My Life Changed After Having A Baby

Jessica Delfino
OneAndDoneMom
Published in
4 min readJul 25, 2021

--

the author and her little one

My life changed in such dramatic ways after I had a baby. I am still shocked and stunned at the things that other mothers left out when telling me stories about what parenting would be like. But the truth is, I probably wouldn’t have believed them or understood until I went through it myself. The unspoken truths of motherhood are also so bizarre, personal and emotional, that they probably couldn’t have put them into words with much ease, on the spot.

I understand that now.

But when my son was first born, I was so confused. Why didn’t anyone tell me that I’d spend so much time in tears? (Not everyone experiences postpartum depression, as I did.) Why didn’t anyone tell me I’d spend night after night watching the dusk turn to dawn as I nursed my baby at all odd hours of the day and evening? (Some people hire might nurses or split the night duties with a partner or have a family member to help. None of these were the case for me.)

Here are some other noticeable things that happened after a child joined my family.

1. I became obsessed with diet.

I had never cared much about my diet or nutrition before the baby, but after, I realized that every morsel of food I put into my body would become nourishment for my infant, both through…

--

--

Jessica Delfino
OneAndDoneMom

I write about life with 1 husband, 2 kids, 1 cat, sometimes funny. Instagram.com/JessicaDelfino Bylines: TheNew Yorker, The NY Times, The Atlantic, McSweeney’s.