What To Do If Someone Doesn’t Follow You Back On Social Media

The answer isn’t cry, but no judgment

Jessica Delfino
OneAndDoneMom
Published in
5 min readApr 21, 2019

--

photo credit Thom Weerd / Unsplash

I work hard and I respect myself, admire my efforts and hold myself in high regard! So when I am not followed back by someone on social media, especially someone I know, I admit, it kind of irks me.

It doesn’t ruin my day or affect my sleep (I’m a mom, so my sleep is affected! Sleep? What’s sleep??), but it can get stuck in a crevice in my brain for a bit and I think that’s bad.

It’s bad, because when I get hung up on something, and it does happen from time to time, I lose that time. My progress is affected. My self-esteem can even be altered. I hate that, because I work very hard to keep my self-esteem high.

I consider high self-esteem to be the fuel that gets me through the rough parts of life. If I’m feeling too low, the mud thickens into cement and sometimes even quicksand.

So I try hard to stay happy, and feeling good about myself. I run from the abyss, and will do nearly anything to avoid falling in.

On the wrong day, at the wrong moment, a stupid little dumb, unimportant thing like not being followed by someone on Twitter can send me into a mini spiral of self-doubt, which is the kind…

--

--

Jessica Delfino
OneAndDoneMom

I write about life with 1 husband, 2 kids, 1 cat, sometimes funny. Instagram.com/JessicaDelfino Bylines: TheNew Yorker, The NY Times, The Atlantic, McSweeney’s.