Part II: In Conversation with Marzyyiah

Haadia Athar
OneByte
Published in
3 min readNov 5, 2021

One of the crucial roles of HR management is to increase organizational performance, leading to job satisfaction for employees. Marzyyiah has been with OneByte for less than 2 years, but the impact having such an excellent HR Business Partner as her has had on the company has been immense. The practices she has implemented have really contributed to lowering turnover and motivating employees. Here’s what Marzyyiah had to say in our tête à tête.

What are your responsibilities as an HR Business Partner?

I’m primarily responsible for people and team management as well as talent acquisition and establishing a good culture in the company, but my role also involves basic HR annual reviews and creating a safe environment for employees. On the strategic side, the goal is to build a workforce that is aligned with the overall business goals. A part of what I do is resource planning as well. My role is more generalistic — especially now that I’m also working with Eon. So it’s a little bit of everything.

What made you choose the field you work in?

It’s going to sound like a big fat cliche, but the field seemed to have chosen me. The first job I took happened to be that of a recruiter, and the rest is history. I realized it was something I liked doing, something I was good at, and I stuck to it.

What motivates you to come to work every morning?

Working hard leads to partying hard :) The thought that if I work I will be able to take myself on an exciting vacation is what keeps me going.

Did you find it difficult to get to a leadership position as a woman in your industry?

Actually, given the industry I work in, it was easier for me to get a job as a woman. I was fortunate enough to not face any discrimination at any point. It is a widely claimed notion that women gravitate towards human resources positions.

Do you struggle with maintaining a work-life balance because of the expectations people have from women?

I do have difficulty because I work with some international clients as well who are more active in the later hours of the day. Especially since I also work mostly from home, the line between work and personal can get a little blurry. Most days, I wake up and get straight to work, and I work until I go to bed.

Who are some women who inspired you to do what you do?

Mina Patel — my mentor, and so many other women every day.

What are some of the things you’ve learned working in a leadership position — in general, and as a woman?

In general, I have learnt people management. I’m not perfect at it, I don’t think anyone can ever be perfect at it, but I do believe I have developed a knack for identifying the right people for the right jobs. I also try to make sure we are contributing to their career growth and motivating them to be able to enjoy their work while also achieving their long-term goals. Of course, providing a career growth trajectory can be difficult, but another thing I’ve learned is to look at the bigger picture. Taking a step back and viewing it from a wider perspective always helps.

Do you have any words of wisdom for the women who will follow?

I would say just try and think out of the box, all boxes that you are confined to, be it society or family. You can do whatever you want, whenever you want. There is no biological clock; you don’t have to be working in a certain position, or be married, or have children by a particular age. Good things come to those who wait. Wait for the right job, the right person. Grow yourself as a person before you think about other things.

--

--