Back to the basics with HTML emails

Askar
OneMasjid
Published in
2 min readMay 20, 2017

It’s hard to believe that even in this day and age there’s no simple solution to make HTML emails work the way they are supposed to, across all email clients.

First, I thought having an inline <style> is fine for emails and it worked as well. The issue came when we tried to forward or reply to an email that has these inline <style> tags. Came to know Gmail, Google Inbox and a bunch of leading email clients strip off the <style> tags during reply/forward actions (who knew!).

I tried to go with some mainstream solutions like Foundation, MJML etc. but came to a conclusion that they are more work and magic than a simple <table>, <tr>, <td>’s, and a bunch of inline styles…yes…the old way!

That’s the one that worked better for me, and felt home than to rely on other solutions (I’m not blaming them, I just didn’t feel comfortable). If you are reasonably good with simple CSS I think this is a better solution for HTML emails, at least in my opinion. Would love to hear your experience in coming up with HTML email templates, and what you finally ended up going with…it’d be an interesting discussion.

--

--

Askar
OneMasjid

Founder, ARSHtec. Humbly trying my best to connect our beloved Masajid and the Communities together using OneMasjid platform.