Finding an Agent for Your Novel, Part I

Laura Scott
Keep Writing
Published in
2 min readJan 26, 2018

You’ve Drafted Your Book to the Point of Submission. Now What?

A member of a OneRoom novel writing group asked me to share a bit about my (in)experience with book publishing and answer some questions.

I would be very interested (and I bet some of the group would be too) if you would share how you are going about the actual mechanics of sending the book to agents for representation. What’s it like?

I have questions: How do you go about finding an agent? How much of a book does one need to have completed before sending it to an agent: a chapter sample, an outline, the whole enchilada?

So, as I wrote a series of emails to her and the group, I thought of would share some of those messages here. This is the beginning of the how I’m going about seeking an agent.

After drafting until I could draft no more (I kept going back to change things I’d already changed), I sent the manuscript to my final reader, a former teacher who offered to read the book (hold people to these offers). Once I’ve incorporated any helpful suggestions, I will do one more read-through to assure the book is ready to send to anyone who may be interested.

What is it like? Well, I’m working on staying open to all possible outcomes (especially the ones I can’t think of), feeling grateful that I nearly have this book behind me and I am ready for the next one, and I’ve been avoiding finalizing my query letter like it’s carrying the worst of the winter flu germs. I took two weeks off of writing and it took work to get started again, as it’s important to get back to something, anything (I chose a story in progress that feels close, but isn’t done). And I’m headed to a four week residency in February at the Kimmel Harding Nelson Center. Residencies offer time and focus unmatched in daily life, exactly what I need to transition from the novel to shorter projects.

Up next: making a long list of agents you are interested in.

Do you have questions about finishing a book and seeking an agent? What has your experience been?

Share your questions and/or experience in the comments section.

--

--

Laura Scott
Keep Writing

Writer and editor. Writing coach at OneRoom. Teacher at Literary Arts.