Thought of the Day #11

Ian Reis
The Onesien Project
2 min readMar 29, 2017

Approach the game with no preset agendas and you’ll probably come away surprised at your overall efforts.

— Phil Jackson

I find myself doing this more and more at work. I use to try and convince people of the best way to do things. But that was my best way. Now instead I just wait until I am asked. By spending less effort on convincing and focusing more on doing the work that needs to be done, I can at least be confident in the work product that I produce. Too many times I came up short on my output, and still hadn’t changed any minds in any other area. So why fight it. Im confident in my abilities to deliver solid code.

Same things goes for dating. So many guys come up with these elaborate scenarios for dates all with the ‘agenda’ of getting laid. Instead they should focus on having a good time. More importantly make sure that they are having a good time. If you’re having a good time you’re relaxed. If you’re relaxed you’ll be more confident. And guess what? Most women find confidence attractive. Now I am not saying this will get you laid, but it won’t not get you laid either.

Confidence is so underrated. When people find out that I do stand-up comedy they always ask aren’t you scared? Not at all. I’m addicted to microphones and crowds. But when they say they’d be to scared to do it I suggest they start with a funny story they have told a thousand times. So often people think the way to start is go get a notebook and start writing jokes. Do not do this. For one, writing jokes is hard. Number two even if you write the funniest joke in the world, you’re probably not going to be able to deliver it the first time anyway. This is where telling the story comes in. You’ve told it before. You’re comfortable with material and most importantly, you already know its funny since it has made other people laugh.

Agendas have their place in the office, when dating, and on stage. But overall confidence in your abilities is way more important in the long run.

--

--