Thought of the Day #7

Ian Reis
The Onesien Project
2 min readMar 21, 2017

It is more important to know where you are going than to get there quickly. Do not mistake activity for achievement.

— Isocrates

There seems to be a common theme in all these quotes this week. This quote perfectly sums up my life from 18–24. I enlisted in the Air Force when I was eighteen. I got married at 19. I got a dog when I was 20. I bought a house when I was 23. And by 24 I was divorced. Whew.That period of my life is such a blur. I know it happened cause, well I was there. But it also feels so unfamiliar when I tell other people about it.

I was so proud of myself back then. Being an adult. Doing ‘adult’ things. Now as an actual adult, I realize those were all childish things. There is no way I was mentally prepared for what all those decisions actually meant. I’m not even sure I was happy. I was just going through the with no destination.

It’s not as if I don’t want those things. I just put a lot more thought into them now. I’m at a point in my life where I’d rather do nothing, than do something I don’t want to do.

Lately my external activity has gone way down. I don’t go ‘clubbing’. I rarely even go to bars. But my internal activity has gone way up. I am reading more. I started writing including this blog. I have even starting telling jokes again. Albeit on my Anchor radio station.

I still don’t have a destination. But I enjoy this path a lot more.

--

--