How to Feel Better, Think Clearer, and Increase Your Stamina on the Range and in Life

Bud Heaton
On Point Shooting
Published in
3 min readMar 18, 2017

Just this last weekend, I was able to spend four days in San Diego California at Brendon Burchard’s High Performance Academy. I am a big believer in personal development and growth. Shooting competitively, for self-defense, or just recreationally is the perfect incubator for growth and development not only in the shooting realm but in every day life.

During those four days, I learned deep knowledge regarding psychology, physiology, productivity, persuasion, and was also able to meet a lot of really cool people. In the video here I explain just a few tips regarding physiology and how it might affect your shooting.

Much of my expertise falls under the realm of shotgun shooting and sporting clays. Although much of what I learned while doing this applies to pistols and rifles, I’m deeply passionate about sporting clays. So, in the video wall the context that I give is mostly regarding sporting clays shooters, the principles still apply. It does not matter if you’re competing in an IPSC tournament, A long-range shoot out, or just preparing for self defense situations we all are humans and have, for the most part, have the same basic physiological needs.

I’ve been to tournaments, in which I was jetlagged, improperly fueled, majorly dehydrated, and frankly, completely out of shape. I can absolutely say now, that I can attribute this to not fulfilling my physiological needs for high-performance.

During the event, and additional thing I learned was that peak performance, and high performance are not the same thing. Peak performance simply means you peak and valley, you peak and Valley, and repeat. High performance as defined by Brendon Burchard, is A level of performance higher than normal that is sustained over a long period of time.

Those who are serious about competition would agree with me that they would like to compete for a long time. So, in order to do that I would highly recommend you follow the few tips from the video here.

In addition, high performance isn’t just about a sport or business and productivity. High performance can be had in any area of your life. Your relationships, your family, your kids, giving service, your church, etc. etc. As you watch the video, think how getting your energy right on a daily basis can make your life that much better.

I have implemented most everything I’ve learned from my trip to San Diego and I feel great, I’m staying productive, and my overall quality of life has improved. I am passionate about high performance and maximizing potential in all areas of life. Shooting being a big part of that.

I appreciate you watching and reading, if you have any questions, comments, or feedback simply email me at coaching@budheaton.com.

See you on the range,

Bud Heaton

--

--