How to Select the Proper Hearing Protection

Bud Heaton
On Point Shooting
Published in
5 min readFeb 4, 2017

Shooting a gun be it a shotgun, rifle, or pistol is exciting, challenging, and of course loud. There have been only a handful of times that I’ve stepped up to the shooting cage ready to shoot, but forgot to put my earplugs in. A few times that I stood next to the shooting cage someone else shot and I wasn’t ready.

If you’ve had a similar experience, you know what the ringing of the ears feels like. It sucks to deal with. I recently read a stat that says an estimated 80% of shooters have some degree of hearing impairment.

There are many factors that can contribute to hearing loss. Muzzle blast, other shooters, earplugs that push wax deeper into the ear. I’m not an ear nose and throat doctor but I’m sure they could come up with more reasons. My point is, there are some things you can do to minimize hearing damage while shooting.

In this article, I want to take a minute and talk about the different options you have when it comes to hearing protection.

  1. The easy and cheap method. Foam rolled plugs.
  2. The cheap but slightly annoying method. Over the ear muffs.
  3. The cheaper and custom method. Rubber molded plugs.
  4. The less expensive but nice option. Digital ear muffs.
  5. The expensive and nice option. Digital/analog ear plugs.
  6. The expensive and custom option. Digital custom molded ear plugs.

Let’s break these down individually to see the pros and cons of each.

1. The easy and cheap method. Foam rolled plugs.

These are easily the easiest and most convenient option. You can take them anywhere and they will conveniently fit just about anywhere. I keep 3 or 4 sets in my range back as backup just incase. They are simple but they just work.

The biggest downside to these plugs is you pretty much feel like you’re underwater and all you can hear is your own voice in your head. That being said, they block out any blasts from a shotgun, pistol, or rifle. So they are really effective.

Another complaint I get about these types of plugs is that they can be tricky to put in your ears and so they fall out easily. This can be true, but if you just take the time to learn how they are meant to be put in, they are excellent backups.

2. The cheap but slightly annoying method. Over the ear muffs.

I’d say I like theses ones the least. They are typically too big, bulky, and in the way. Typically you’ll find these at the range’s shelf of rental equipment. These ear muffs definitely get the job done, they’re durable, and they are re-usable, hence the reason they’re used at ranges for rentals.

Some guys swear by them, others can’t stand them. I personally hate muffs unless they’re electronic, but we will get to that in a minute.

3. The cheaper and custom method. Rubber molded plugs.

This is what I am currently using more often than not. Unless I’m at an indoor range. These ear plugs are custom molded to fit in your ear. They’re made of a rubber material and can last 2–3 years, longer if you really take care of them. What I like about these is that it blocks out the high decibels of a shot blast but allows me to have a conversation without completely feeling like I’m underwater.

These plugs are also fairly inexpensive to purchase. $30 — $40. You can order a DIY set on amazon or other online sites. My preference is actually finding a vendor that will do them on the shot. You typically find these people at a tournament or large event. This way, you know it’s getting done right. I’d highly recommend this option. Especially for outdoor shooting.

4. The less expensive but nice option. Digital ear muffs.

Whenever I hit the indoor pistol/rifle range, I use these types of ear muffs. The sound of the guns is amplified greatly and so my custom molds, can do a pretty good job, but sometimes its still a little too loud.

An additional perk of the muffs you see here is you can plug in your phone or iPod and listen to music
while shooting. It’s nice when you’re by yourself and you just want to get in the zone. They keep conversations really clear, and keep the gunshot noise completely down.

These are an excellent option for any shooter. Whether shotgun, rifle, or pistol, these muffs will get the job done. Also, they wont break the bank. As of this writing, they’re listed at $42.30 on Amazon. So if custom molds aren’t a possibility, I’d recommend these bad boys.

5. The expensive and nice option. Digital/analog ear plugs.

There are a myriad of options here, from much cheaper to more expensive. Prices on hearing protection here range from $30 to $300. Some are better than others and some flat out just suck. My rule of thumb here is, you get what you pay for.

I don’t necessarily have a recommended option here. What I would say is, try a few things out and see what works best for you.

6. The expensive and custom option. Digital custom molded ear plugs.

These are probably the best options out there. A custom molded and digital sound processing ear plug. They are the most comfortable and provide the best sound. Now, that being said, I have never owned a pair but know many people that own and use them.

From my research, both online and offline. the best ones you could get are ESP America’s Dynamic series, or something very similar. With a $2,400 price tag I haven’t pulled the trigger on getting them just yet. As a shooter, sometimes its easier to just keep things simple and cost efficient. That being said, if you have the ability to purchase them great. If not, maybe you spend your extra $2,400 on ammo instead. It all depends on your circumstances.

This is by no means a comprehensive list. This is more than anything, just my ramblings mixed with my opinion and a little experience. However, I hope it serves you as you progress as a shooter, competitor, defender, and patriot. Your hearing protection is a vital aspect to shooting and living your everyday life. There is no sense in sacrificing your hearing if you don’t have to.

Please feel free to email me your questions at coaching@budheaton.com I’d love to help you out with your shooting questions.

Bud Heaton

P.S. For you shotgun shooters our there, if you have not picked up my 7 Exercises You Can do at Home guide, you can get it by clicking here. It will help you smooth out your mount and swing with the targets.

--

--