Welcoming our new interns

Sameer Vasta
Ontario Digital Service
6 min readJul 21, 2017

--

A few months ago, we helped launch the first ever digital stream for the Ontario Internship Program. We’re excited to welcome our first cohort of digital interns, and wanted to give you a chance to get to know them.

Over the next few months, our digital interns will share more about their work and their experiences in the Ontario Digital Service. In the meantime, here’s a quick introduction to the four new members of our team.

Bertha Chan

I recently graduated from the Master of Information program at the University of Toronto, taking courses in Information Systems and Design until I discovered UX in my second year. That’s when I found out about my passion and wanted to dig more into it. When I found out that I was placed in the Ontario Digital Service, I could not be more excited. Knowing about the work that ODS been doing on improving online user experience, I’m glad to be part of this great initiative.

Bertha Chan

Which living person do you most admire?

I absolutely admire my mother, who, although lives far away from me in Hong Kong, has great influence on me. She’s always so loving, patient, caring, encourage, and much more. She’s also a strong woman who battled against cancer and yet, stayed optimistic throughout the whole journey. I admire everyday positive attitude and try to be bring positive energy wherever I go.

Which words or phrases do you most overuse?

I’m a foodie and I love eating. I don’t realize this until my friends asked me why I’m always hungry. That’s when I realize I’m always saying “I’m hungry”.

Which historical figure do you most identify with?

I’d say I’m most identified with Christopher Columbus in the sense that he’s known as an explorer. Life is full of constant learning and I like to explore and experience new things. I’m open to changes and want to learn as much as possible. I want to explore what’s out there that is waiting for me to discover.

Sunday Joseph

I am a graduate of York University, with a BA (Hons) degree in Information Technology management. I have about two years experience in the IT sector working as a help desk assistant at York University and a software developer intern involved in both testing and development at IBM Canada.

Sunday Joseph

What is your motto?

Empowerment through knowledge.

Who are your favorite writers?

John Maxwell, Myles Munro and Enoch Adejare Adeboye

Where would you most like to live?

Ottawa.

David Cox

I’m the newest and youngest addition to the ODS content team! As an intern with the content team in the Ontario Digital Service, I’ll be looking for opportunities to learn while I help make sure Ontarians can find what they need on the web. I’m a recent grad from the University of Waterloo, and I’m so excited to be here! This is my first time living in Toronto, and there are lots of foods and places to explore.

David Cox

What do you consider your greatest achievement?

I’m not sure it’s my greatest achievement, but I reached my most famous point this past April in New York City. I sang with my a cappella group The Water Boys in the International Championship of Collegiate A Cappella Finals, on the Beacon Theatre stage. It was a sold-out crowd of 2800+! We placed 5th overall in the world for 2017, and were the top all-male group. Additionally, we were the first Canadian group to make it to the finals round in 11 years! We got a congratulatory letter from PM Trudeau, were featured on a worldwide Snapchat story, and got more press coverage and internet traffic than we ever had before. Yeah, that was a pretty cool experience.

If you were to die and come back as a person or a thing, what would it be?

I’m definitely coming back as a penguin. I can’t wait for those slick, flappy wings.

Who are your heroes in real life?

I really don’t know who I would label as my hero, because no one is Superman-perfect. However, Bill and Melinda Gates have done some rather impressive philanthropic work. When so few are rich and proportionately philanthropic, Bill and Melinda stand as examples of what can be done when empathy intersects affluence.

Kyle Binger

Growing up I was always interested in tech and digital things. When I was in grade 7 or 8, I started coding some really awful video games at the encouragement of my programming teacher at the time. Coincidentally, in that same period I also made my first website using Adobe Dreamweaver CS3. I carried on with the idea that I would eventually go into game programming as I progressed through school, but I decided to transition my focus to web design by the end of my time in high school.

Kyle Binger

I’ve worked a few summer experience jobs previously for the Ontario Government. My first was as an Algonquin Ranger in 2011. The following year, I worked at Wasaga Beach doing beach maintenance and clean up. While I had several jobs in my teenage years I really enjoyed these two the most. In May 2016, I found myself graduating from Humber College’s Web Design and Interactive Media Program, and looking for employment. I thought back to my time working for the Ontario government previously and started browsing around to see if there were any opportunities that aligned with my field of study. I ended up applying for another summer experience program with the Ministry of Finance, as well as the OIP Program. I was fortunate enough to land both and the rest is history!

I’m excited to continue learning and gaining experience through the OIP Program while helping the government modernize and improve their digital services for both the public as well as internal staff.

What is your most treasured possession?

I’m not one to put too much value on material things, but I obtained possession of my grandfather’s wedding ring after he passed. I was just a toddler when he died, but it’s a nice memento to remember him by.

Who is your hero of fiction?

Batman hands down, greatest detective and athlete to ever don a cape.

Which talent would you most like to have?

If we are talking about talent, then I would like to be able to play an instrument of some sort (preferably guitar); I’m pretty musically challenged. If we are talking about a super power, then definitely would love to be able to fly and skip the TTC in the morning.

Questions adapted from the Proust Questionnaire.

Sameer Vasta is a digital anthropologist, letter-writer, and hugger extraordinaire. He is the managing editor of the Ontario Digital blog, and avid observer of the world.

--

--