Osaka Day 1

다니엘🇰🇷
onthejourney
Published in
3 min readAug 15, 2017

Today, I arrived in Japan around two o’clock. I was first hit with the hot, humid air as I exited the plane to the tarmac. Without much of an idea of where I was going, I spent a good hour deciding the correct way to the hostel. Eventually, I purchased the subway card and found the right train to take me downtown. Thankfully, the hostel was easy to find, as it was just outside of an exit at the subway station.

After my initial confusion, I made my way to the Umeda Sky Building, where my Japanese Friends and I decided to meet. While it was easy to get lost among the numerous flashy billboards advertising one thing or another, the building was easy to find, as it was the one that looked like a personified game of Jenga.

Views from Umeda Sky Building

Afterwards, I had a bit of time before dinner, so I decided on doing the most “touristy” thing possible, a night time river cruise around the city. It was just as the sun was setting, so the inner workings of the city seemed even more beautiful. While it was a bit pricey, I think it was a good idea, as the tour guide gave me a good idea of what I should do in the city.

River Cruise @ Dotonbori

After the tour, I was feeling hungry, so I went to the nearest ramen stall and ordered myself some Tonkasu Ramen. From my trip to Tokyo, I had high expectations, but it didn’t disappoint. The broth and the noodles were very delicious, and rich. I couldn’t finish the whole bowl.

Ramen from a local stall

After dinner, my Japanese friend wanted to meet up nearby my hostel, where he works. He wanted to introduce me to traditional Japanese Karaoke. While the exterior of the karaoke was a bit high tech and interesting, the interior and the culture was similar to Korea. We got some soda from the vending machine and sang our hearts out to, ironically, Korean music. They were fans of kpop, so I got to sing along to many songs I already knew. It was a fun time and I felt happy that I met up with some locals on my first day in Osaka.

Karoake

Originally published at dailycrusade.com on August 15, 2017.

--

--

다니엘🇰🇷
onthejourney

여행하는 19살 소년 • 17yo Korean Traveller • 17歳の韓国人旅行者