Grandma Spencer, Trent Spencer, Me, Thomas Spencer, Connie Spencer, Mom Sarah Neil

Wildcard

Katelyn Spencer
Open Doors
Published in
3 min readDec 3, 2015

--

Wildcard Explanation: (the vimeo link is attached at the bottom of the screen)

I chose to create a picture slideshow for my wild card part of the project. The pictures allow anyone who views my project to be able to connect with my family on a more intimate level. By seeing pictures of my family members, the reader can visualize who is in each of my anecdotes and feel like they are a part of the stories.

A lot of people would not recognize their great aunts/ uncles or second cousins in a crowd. My extended family, however, has been an integral part of my childhood, and will continue to influence me throughout my life. All of the family members that I included in the slideshow have contributed to my personality. My family on my father’s side and mother’s side are very important to me, but I am closer with more extended family members on my mother’s side. This is because Momma Cook always liked to have large family gatherings where everyone from the family could come and be together. Togetherness was something that Momma Cook took very seriously. Each year most of my mom’s side of the family gets together for at least 3 events. Some kind of special celebration (with a big family someone is always getting married or having a party), Easter, and the Fourth of July. The parties on the Fourth of July are the ones that stand out the most in my memory. Each year my family would take off to Kentucky to celebrate the Fourth of July with my Mom’s family. My Aunt Joyce and Uncle Perry (My Mom’s Aunt and Uncle, but that’s what I grew up calling them) host the celebration every year. They have a huge barbeque pit that makes the most savory tasting barbeque imaginable, a huge field for games and backyard football, and a pool to cool down after soaking in the sun. All of these things are made better by the fact that at the celebration every year I am surrounded by many generations of my family. Momma Cook always came to the big family events, no matter how old she was. At the age of 98 she was still at Aunt Joyce’s house watching the festivities take place. The many games of tag I played with my relatives, the great food I ate, and the many stories I heard are what make the Fourth of July parties stand out in my memory.

Through sharing my pictures and using captions to explain who everyone is, I have shared part of the most important piece of my life — my family. The majority of my project is based on communication because the Cook family has taught me how important interactions and connections are. By sharing so many precious moments caught on camera, I have helped my reader connect with my family.

--

--