SwitchPoint (Community Resource) ‘Fundraising’

Ashlynn White
Open Envelope Publication
3 min readAug 9, 2022

--

Tuesday, August 9th, 2022

Ya ya, I know I’ve written a few times today, which I normally don’t do. But today I had a revelation. I sat down with some of my goals and realized I hadn’t been giving ANY time to charity.

A big part of who I am, well who I want to be, is a stand-up member of my community. Lately, I’ve been postponing acts of service on my list with the excuse that my schedule is too busy. I’m done doing that…

First of all, I have a sound job. I never started writing on Medium for the money (not that Medium even pays out much).

I’ve had my Ko-Fi account linked for a long while and haven’t received a cent on it. Am I mad about that? Not one bit, because I never had an expectation with it. Then the thought hit me;

What if I set a goal on Ko-Fi as a charitable fundraiser?

Boom! That’s what I did.

The Cause:

SwitchPoint Resource Center

I am so proud to say that I live in a city with this amazing of an organization. Their link is above where it says ‘SwitchPoint Resource Center’, if you would like to check it out on your own. But let me tell you a little bit about them.

[This information is taken from their website]

First of all, they serve as a soup kitchen: Free, hot meals Monday-Friday 11:45 am — 1:00 pm.

--

--

Ashlynn White
Open Envelope Publication

✨Top Writer in Energy✨ Capricorn who loves her Cats, Reading, and Writing. I've been called a Word Fairy🧚🏻‍♀️ and a Gothic Heroine🦇 so I'm sticking by that!!