Interning at OGP: Jess’ Pursuit of Making an Impact Through Design

Open Government Products
Open Government Products
3 min readJun 16, 2021

Jess is a LASALLE Graduate who is currently pursuing a 6-month Product Design internship in OGP. Today, we sat down with Jess to hear more about her experiences being an intern at OGP and her learnings here.

Hi Jess! To start off, could you share with us more about yourself?

Hi, My name is Jessica, people call me Jess. I have just graduated from LASALLE College of the Arts and am currently interning in OGP as a product designer. I am working on two projects, which are Vault and the COVID-19 Vaccination Booking System. A fun fact about me is that 95% of my clothes are black, the other 5% are white, grey, navy or occasionally green.

So, what made you join OGP initially?

Joining OGP was a transition for me, from being a graphic designer to being a UI/UX designer. My personal goal as a designer is to create a positive impact on society through the work that I do. After finding out more about what OGP does, I knew that it is a place for me to hone my skills in terms of design, to serve the public better and eventually create a positive impact towards the nation.

How has your experience in OGP been so far?

My experience in OGP so far has been very interesting, fruitful and exciting as I encounter different things each and every day. I’ve always enjoyed every process and milestone that I’ve achieved thus far, and overall, OGP has been a very fun place to be, in terms of the opportunities for growth, the culture, people and the work we do.

Could you share with us what a day in your life as an OGP intern looks like?

As an intern at OGP, I do a lot of user testing, research, as well as basic prototyping. I’m also occasionally involved in graphic work such as revamping logos and researching existing design systems. Apart from that, I also attend team sync ups and meetings to discuss and align on how we can achieve the goals of the products, as a team.

Additionally, I catch up with other designers on our progress, updates and plans for the journey ahead. On Fridays, which are dedicated learning days for staff and interns, I will spend my time learning additional skills such as coding, or sharpening my UI/UX skills.

What are some takeaways through the course of your internship?

Not only have I learned so much about UI/UX and understanding how to conduct user testing, but also, I’ve learned more about how to work in a team and contribute to the team goals as an individual. Apart from that, I now have a better understanding of the organisation’s culture, mission and how our work at OGP is contributing to the greater public good.

Could you share with us your fondest memory in OGP?

It’s really all the small talks, discussions and laughter with my colleagues that I enjoy. Through these interactions, I was able to truly understand them better, individually and work wise. They really opened up my mind and perspective as to how I can approach things, be it work, or in life.

Interns are welcomed all year round! Apply now at open.gov.sg/careers/internships.

--

--

Open Government Products
Open Government Products

We are Open Government Products, an experimental division of the Government Technology Agency of Singapore. We build technology for the public good.