Not Every Hustle Sucks

Eric Pone
Open House Writing
Published in
1 min readJan 22, 2018

--

I am a writer…..after work. I initially considered this a side hustle as a content creator. I pushed and pushed and got nowhere. I have been at this off and on for years. But I recently did some fiction writing. I did it to get out of a deep writers block. And I got positive feedback. I didn’t feel like my soul was being ripped out of me and I didn’t feel like I was paying a price. I was enjoying writing fiction.

I had this vision about being a politician/ content creator/ conference speaker. Maybe I will get to some of it. But right now, when I write I find joy. I get to share my imagination, that which is most personal and most valuable to me with others. Am I going to get rich? I don’t know, but I do know that when I look back on my life I will not feel guilt for not having worked the 80+ hours going nowhere. I did that and it sucked. I will not feel guilty for keeping what is most me away from the world. My kids, my wife, my friends and family through my writing will know me completely. If I get paid and famous great. But if not, I can say I was fully present to the world through writing…..fiction.

--

--