Take free or low-cost online courses taught by MIT’s Nobel laureates

MIT OpenCourseWare, MITx, and MITx MicroMasters offer accessible educational materials from MIT faculty and instructors.

MIT Open Learning
MIT Open Learning
3 min readJun 12, 2024


A collage of headshots of the Nobel Laureates.
Image: Katherine Ouellette

By Katherine Ouellette

Did you know MIT has more than 100 Nobel laureates? Through MIT Open Learning, anyone in the world can try their hand at free and low-cost online courses taught by some of the Institute’s Nobel laureates. Start learning economics, physics, chemistry, or biology on MIT OpenCourseWare, MITx, or MITx MicroMasters today.

Moungi Bawendi, 2023 Nobel Prize in Chemistry

Moungi Bawendi, Lester Wolfe Professor of Chemistry, received this prize for discovering and synthesizing quantum dots. Dive into physical chemistry with Bawendi’s courses on thermodynamics:

Joshua Angrist, 2021 Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel

Joshua Angrist, Ford Professor of Economics, was recognized for his work establishing new methods of conducting “natural experiments” in economics. Learn from his methods in these economics courses:

Abhijit Banerjee and Esther Duflo, 2019 Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel

Abhijit Banerjee, Ford Foundation International Professor of Economics, and Esther Duflo, Abdul Latif Jameel Professor of Poverty Alleviation and Development Economics, shared this prize for their breakthrough anti-poverty work. Explore different areas of data, economics, and policy with Banerjee and Duflo.

Courses taught by Banerjee and Duflo:

Course taught by Banerjee: Political Economy and Economic Development

Courses taught by Duflo:

Bengt Holmström, 2016 Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel

Bengt Holmström, Paul A. Samuelson Professor Emeritus of Economics, received this prize for his work on contract theory. Gain insight into his expertise with Microeconomic Theory IV.

Frank Wilczek, 2004 Nobel Prize in Physics

Frank Wilczek, Herman Feshbach Professor of Physics, was recognized for the discovery of the “color” force between quarks. Explore the quantum realm with these online courses:

Wolfgang Ketterle, 2001 Nobel Prize in Physics

Wolfgang Ketterle, John D. MacArthur Professor of Physics, was recognized for the creation of the first gaseous Bose-Einstein condensate, which was a new state of matter in 2001. Dive into atomic details with Ketterle:

Philip Sharp, 1993 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine

Philip Sharp, professor emeritus of biology, earned this recognition for his independent discovery of split genes in his cancer research. Learn the fundamentals of nuclear cell biology with Sharp’s Cell Biology: Structure and Functions of the Nucleus course.

These course materials are available through MIT OpenCourseWare, MITx, and MITx MicroMasters, which are part of MIT Open Learning. OpenCourseWare offers free, online, open educational resources from more than 2,500 courses that span the MIT undergraduate and graduate curriculum. MITx offers hundreds of high-quality massive open online courses adapted from the MIT classroom for learners worldwide. The MITx MicroMasters Programs provide an affordable, accelerated, and convenient path to a master’s degree. The credential itself is also valuable for professionals as they move through their careers.



MIT Open Learning
MIT Open Learning

Transforming teaching and learning at MIT and around the globe through the innovative use of digital technologies.