CHRISTMAS SATIRE

An Open Letter to Amazon from Santa

Leave this Christmas to me Grinch and all we hold dear, and you can take every other day of the year.

Sarah Courtney Burry
Open Letters To
Published in
3 min readDec 20, 2021

--

Photo by Jesson Mata on Unsplash

Dear Amazon,

You have your bazillions and your large empire too.
Your Grinch stores flog everything including Whole Foods.
You sell bells and bicycles and hula-hoop hoops,
books, toy planes and run-away trains looping-de-loop.
You have thousands of workers that bow down to Prime.
So, why greedy Grinch, are you taking what’s mine?

I’m talking about Christmas — the day that’s for me,
when children wake to find gifts under their tree
that I’ve toiled to make with the elves in my shop
and delivered by hand with my reindeer non-stop,
on a trek through the night in snow, sleet and rain,
to the tots in Finland, Thailand and Bahrain.

Parents have leaned on me to bring Christmas cheer,
sending heartfelt letters to the North Pole each year.
They’ve come to the malls with their kids dressed to the nines
and taken festive photos despite…

--

--

Sarah Courtney Burry
Open Letters To

5X top writer. I love to use satire and humor. I write about travel, politics, family, feminism, sports, health & music. So, basically everything.