OPEN LETTERS

An Open Letter to My Pharmacy

Your job looks super stressful

Jean Campbell
Open Letters To
Published in
3 min readJan 17, 2022

--

Dear Pharmacy Workers,

Today, I went to my Walgreen’s drive-thru and there was a sign that read:

Closed today 1/14/21. Staff is sick.

I felt really bad because I know you are extremely hard workers. In fact, I feel like you are working too hard, because every time I go to the pharmacy I notice the same passion play.

I see foreheads laced with perspiration and mouth-breathing, and I hear a scolding tone.

I’m not referring to the customer’s tone, although I have overheard loud sighs and grumbling on more than one occasion.

Instead, what I see are white-coated professionals rushing around like meth-heads at a cheerleading meet. It can be hard to make out individuals, as you morph into a whitish blur.

Why are you so stressed out? And why are you moving so quickly?

My theories are very superficial but here they are, in no particular order.

1 / Doctors are all-powerful and you must do their bidding

--

--

Jean Campbell
Open Letters To

Writer by day, reader by night, napper by afternoon.